Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

I forgot to mention in my earlier post that I am now reading a wonderful book entitled Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver.  I actually didn’t realize when I first picked it up that Barbara Kingsolver was the author, because it was in the non-fiction section, but obviously, it is.  In case you don’t know, Barbara Kingsolver is also a fiction author.  I have previously read two of her books, The Bean Trees and The Poisonwood Bible, both of which are excellent.  Animal, Vegetable, Miracle is very different from the other books of hers that I have read, though it does have the same writing style.  It is about Ms. Kingsolver going for a year trying to eat only local food (with her family following the all local plan as well), other than a few exceptions such as flour and olive oil.  Local for them is defined as within one county.  It is a fascinating read, and I am confident that some of my followers would enjoy it (especially Aunt Rusty).  One interesting aspect of it to me, though, is the fact that it portrays California in a somewhat negative light.  Not in terms of California’s people or anything like that, but in terms of the fact that California exports so much produce to other parts of the country and to other countries, thus in some cases stifling attempts to highlight local produce.  People are encouraged so much to eat vegetables that most people would praise California for providing them year round, but Kingsolver makes the argument that we ought to try to eat seasonal vegetables from local sources rather than imported out of season vegetables from California.  It is interesting to think about.  It is also interesting to contemplate trying her experiment, and would probably be infinitely easier here in northern Florida than in Appalachia where she was.  Perhaps as fall approaches and my garden hopefully starts producing, I will be able to do something similar, though I have an unfortunate addiction to carbonation that would prevent me from going through with it at a puritanical level.  Perhaps I could shoot for making sure that at least 50% of my grocery budget is spent on local products or something like that.  And local for me would probably be defined as coming from the state of Florida, rather than just Alachua county, because I don’t think I have her level of discipline.

In other news, I went to turn on the light in my seedling box just now and discovered that one of the cherry tomatoes has some little shoots coming up, yay!

2 thoughts on “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

  1. dianemorey@q.com says:

    Sounds like you are going great guns on the garden. A friend is reading Kingslovers new book and said she’s having trouble getting into it but others have found it OK. Have a great day. Love, Nana

  2. […] Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (adventuresinasimplerlife.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

